1920 The first Proceedings of the UBSS was published.
1921 Relocation of the winch gantry allowed descents of Gaping Gill down the main shaft The first party reached the bottom of the Swildon’s 6m (20ft) pitch and explored on to the sump.
1922 The Gritstone Club (GC) was formed and published their first Journal which included surveys of several of the deep pots on Newby Moss. The YRC descended Little Hull and reached the first pool. C Long spent 168 hours camping and digging down Stump Cross, he finally dug through the Clay Level and later pushed on to find the streamway.
1923 C Long discovered White Scar Cave and explored it as far as the Lake. First descent of High Hull was made by the GC.
1924 Juniper Gulf was bottomed and surveyed by the GC. Gingling Pot (now called Gingling Hole, Fountains Fell) was pushed to Stalactite Chamber by YRC.
1925 White Scar Cave was opened to the Public.
1926 New Roof Traverse was discovered in Lost Johns. Treak Cliff Cavern was extended by Blue John miners who discovered some of the best decorated passage in Derbyshire. The Caves of Mendip by HE Balche was published.
1927 Centipede Pitch was discovered in Lost Johns and on a later trip it was descended although the group were stopped just short of Battleaxe Pitch/Traverse.
1928 Lost John’s Master Cave was reached for the first time by the YRC. The Northern Cavern and Fell Club (NCFC) was formed.
1929 The Craven Pothole Club (CPC) was founded. The first attempts to get down Swinsto Hole by R Hainsworth and GC, took from Whitsuntide until August but only got as far as the fifth pitch. Alfred Hadfield and George Etchells entered the Alderley Edge Mines to explore the abandoned workings, they got lost and their bodies were not found until five months later.